Florida Marriage License Requirements
Do you know what it takes to get married in the state of Florida? You need to apply for and obtain a marriage license. Do you know how to do this? Well below I have listed the most current laws and regulations for applying for and obtaining a marriage license in the state of Florida.
You will need to bring with you to the clerks office one or more of the following picture identification, social security card, passport or I-94 card.
You do not have to reside in the state of Florida to apply or receive a marriage license.
The bride and the groom must both be present when applying for the marriage license.
There are no waiting periods for couples who have taken a premarital preparation course with in the last year. If you have not taken the preparation course you must wait three days.
If you are divorced or widowed then you must supply the clerk with the date you divorced or widowed. If you have divorced or widowed with in the past thirty days you must provide a death certificate or a divorce decree.
If you have not taken the premarital preparation course then the total fees of the marriage license is $93.50 to be paid by cash only. If you have taken the premarital preparation course with in the past year then you will receive a $32.50 discount off the total cost of your marriage license.
You are not required to take a blood test before applying for your marriage license.
Proxy marriages are not allowed in the state of Florida.
All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel in communion with some church may perform marriages.
The marriage license is valid for sixty days. You can only use the marriage license in the state of Florida.
These are the most recent laws and regulations for obtaining a marriage license in the state of Florida. I suggest that you still contact your local clerk to confirm the information above.